Point of View

When I was younger, primarily in my early teenage years, my default perspective while writing was always first person. I’ve heard most say that that is the case for most writers, especially for beginners but as I grew I found myself in the position in which I am in right this very moment.

First Person or Third Person.

I can never decide.

Literally, I really can never decide which one to use. I suppose, yet again, that is another reason for my lack of zeal when it comes to attempting to finish a novel. I always go to my friends who are fellow writers and they tell me, “try writing in both points of views and see which works best.” That’s always the answer, and the final result is always the same: generally, they both work the same. It’s a matter of wanting to use “I” or “he/she”. It’s rather frustrating, really.

It seems I have the innate tendency to develop complex and sophisticated supporting characters that become so incredibly interesting to me that I feel the need to get into their heads and tell their perspective of the story, find out what their story is, and that’s when the dilemma of which point of view to use comes into play.

I was told by a friend that the problem is that “you’re good at writing both.” Maybe that is the case but it brings me to that point of being stuck. If you’ve read my past posts you know how much I dislike being stuck — it’s a wretched feeling.

I ask myself, why? Why does this have to be so difficult? It shouldn’t be. No amount of articles or message boards I have read have made it any easier. Then again, I guess I make it difficult on myself.  I almost feel silly having such a hard time, but I know I really shouldn’t. It seems that it’s in my nature to be rather indecisive. Woe to me, I suppose.

Whatever the case may be, I wish picking which point of view I wish to use would be much easier than it has been. It is starting to put a damper on things and I’ve become increasingly, incredibly annoyed disgruntled.

So, alas, after this harangue of sorts, I encourage you, if you’re reading this, to comment about how you feel in regards to POV and which one you’d much rather prefer to use. I could use all the comments and advice I can get.

I have got to come to some conclusion eventually, haven’t I?

Leave a comment